Day 32- HTML 500

Today was the HTML 500, an event I’ve been looking forward to for months! It is a free learn to code day hosted by Lighthouse Labs, a programmer bootcamp here in Vancouver. Over 2500 people were interested but I was one of the lucky 500 registered! The venue was Rocky Mountaineer Station but I didn’t realize we would actually be inside the station. It was a gloomy and rainy walk to the station from Broadway avenue….
IMG_1477The rain couldn’t dampen our enthusiasm though! Look at all these people who want to learn to code!
IMG_1480

IMG_1481
Chief Talking Officer

Here’s the Chief Talking Officer, Jeremy Shaki, welcoming everyone to the event and introducing the html500. His speech was followed by a great introductory lecture to css and html by Don Burks and Khurram Virani. Whaaat, slides created by css? I love it!

During the lecture is when the pizza smells started to waft through the tables… I hadn’t eaten breakfast and found it increasingly hard to concentrate with smells of Panago pizza demanding my attention! Good thing it was soon lunchtime, pizza and code = best combo ever.

IMG_1483

IMG_1492
With Matt and Macarena from Unbounce!

After lunch, we got time to follow along the tutorial and make our own landing page. I sat at the Unbounce table and our mentors were awesome! They were super helpful and approachable, celebrating the “small wins” with us as we fumbled our way through code. I really liked the example landing page provided so I just followed along and recreated it. I think Richerd’s red eared slider would love a spa like this.
html500

Huge thanks again to Lighthouse Labs, the sponsors, volunteers, and all the mentors who made the html500 a success! I was so excited to see the tech community come together as one and make code a little less intimidating to everyone. Hope I can pay it forward!

Day 32 – HTML500

Leave a Reply

