Day 51 – Dippin’ Dots

I started this page wanting to make splashes of color on the page for Holi, a spring festival of colors. I used html5 canvas to draw colorful dots on the page where a user clicks. I used loops and time delays to create a splatter “animation.” Each dot is a particle object that gets drawn onto the canvas. The size of the splatter, the distance between each loop, the angle(direction) of the new particles, and color can all be adjusted. After playing around with the particles, I decided to make the particles more spaced out so all the dots could be seen. Below are some variations I tinkered with.

Putting the particles closer together gives more of a “splatter look.”
Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 9.33.25 PM

Spacing out the particles and making them bigger creates fun “dot” splatters.Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 9.32.59 PM

If you make the dots closer together but change the color for every loop within a splatter, you get these crazy looking “spider webs”! These were fun but a little too “neon looking” for my taste. 
Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 12.34.25 AM
I quite liked this effect. If you limit the particles to one direction, you get these splatters that remind me of rainbow squids! 
Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 12.35.02 AM
Here is my final version. I liked the look of the dot splatters but wanted more variety in color! It is a combination of the “rainbow squid” and the “dot splatter” looks. These remind me of colorful Dippin’ Dots! I remember how my friends and I were so excited for the “ice cream of the future” when Dippin’ Dots first came to the Calgary Stampede.
dippin-dots-pop_11568

Yummy!
Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 12.35.23 AM

Day 51 – Dippin’ Dots

Leave a Reply

