Page 66 – Homepage refresh!

I decided it was time my Hello World page could use a little makeover. I moved my original index page into a folder and created a new one for staceylin.com ! I still link to the old index page but I feel this new landing page shows a little more of my personality (of course a picture helps too).

The most time consuming part of this redo was doing the screenshots. I spent a lot of time taking screenshots of the different pages and adjusting the sizes in Preview. I wanted to give a glimpse into the 180 pages project so I just chose a few of my favourites. My first layout had landscape, portrait, and square images of different side lengths. When I put these into rows, I quickly realized it looked really messy. I then redid all the screenshots so that they would have the same width.

To align the thumbnails vertically, I used Masonry.JS! I love how it readjusts the elements according to the viewport width. Some people made a fun little game out of the rearranging capabilities. (You have to resize the browser to an exact dimension to get the design aligned correctly!) I used simple mask <divs> to show some information about each thumbnail on hover.

Before:
Screen Shot 2015-07-27 at 10.37.33 PM
After:

Screen Shot 2015-07-27 at 10.35.42 PM

Page 65 – staceylin.com

Leave a Reply

